Greek Task Force/SFL Working Group

Greek Task Force & SFL Working Group

In spring of 2018, Lauren Robel, Provost of Indiana University Bloomington, appointed a task force of IU alumni to advise the Provost and the campus on issues involving sorority and fraternity organizations.The Greek Task Force met regularly from 2018-2020 to discuss high-level issues and concerns, review initiatives on campus and nation-wide, and provide recommendations for ways to enhance the sorority and fraternity experience at Indiana University.

Co-Chairs of the Greek Task Force

  • Jennifer Borland | BA 1995; MA 2000 | Rockman
  • Jeff Fettig | BS 1979; MBA 1981 | Chair of Whirlpool Corporation
  • Jeff Richardson | BA 1972; JD 1977; MPA 1981 | Retired Vice President of Abbot Fund, then AbbVie Foundation

Members of the Greek Task Force

  • Libby Baney | BA 2004; JD 2007 | Faegre Baker Daniels (Washington, DC)
  • Mary Susan Buhner | BS 1994 | WXIN FOX 59
  • Tony Drake | BS 1984 | CME Group
  • Robert Johnson | BA 1988 | Kraft Foods Group (retired)
  • Peter King | BA 1976; JD (Tulane) 1979 | Cline, King & King PC
  • Charles McCormick III | BA 1972; MD 1975 | Indiana Eye Clinic
  • Ed Valdettaro | BS 1980 | Stifel, Nicolaus & Company, Inc.

Sorority and Fraternity Life Working Group

In spring of 2020, Leslie Fasone, Assistant Dean and Director of Sorority and Fraternity Life, appointed a Sorority and Fraternity Life working group. The charge of the group was to provide recommendations needed to improve the sorority and fraternity community at IU by:

  • Discussing the implementation of the 2019–2020 new measures while providing feedback on what is working well and opportunities on how we can make improvements to these initiatives.
  • Reviewing initiatives and steps taken by other campuses, inter/national organizations, and headquarters to provide recommendations of programs, policies, and procedures to be implemented at IU.

Members of the Sorority and Fraternity Life Working Group

  • Tanya Camargo | Multicultural Greek Council | Student
  • Jess Deady | Panhellenic Association | Student
  • Amauri Givens | National Pan-Hellenic Council | Student
  • Isabel Mishkin | Indiana University Student Government | Student
  • Ronak Patel | Interfraternity Council | Student
  • Matt Stein | Indiana University Student Government | Student
  • Arthur Lopez | Multicultural Greek Council | Advisor
  • Alison Miron | Student Involvement and Leadership | Staff
  • Michael Oaks | Interfraternity Council | Advisor
  • Cathy O’Connor | Panhellenic Association | Advisor

The SFL Workgroup presented to the Greek Task Force and the Provost on April 16, 2020. During their presentation, they discussed what they've learned is going well and the existing challenges in the Sorority and Fraternity Community at IU. The workgroup identified priorities for the Sorority and Fraternity Community to focus on moving forward, and recommended a Greek Advisory Board be developed to provide ongoing input and recommendations to the Office of Sorority and Fraternity Life.